

European Board of Urology

Page |

MEETING EUROPEAN BOARD OF UROLOGY MINUTES

Date : Saturday 7 October 2023

Time : 08:00-10:00 hrs.

Venue: The Hague Marriott Hotel, The Netherlands

Executive Committee

J. van Moorselaar : President
A. Chkhotua : Secretary
M. Rauchenwald : President Elect
J. Domínguez Escrig : Secretary Elect
G. Bogaert : Treasurer

K. GermanM. DimmenChairman Accreditation CommitteeChairman Certification Committee

Board

P. Baumeister : Switzerland P. Coelho Nunes : Portugal H. Danuser : Switzerland M. Fedorko : Czechia M. Gebauer Madsen : Denmark F. Gonçalves : Slovakia : Slovenia S. Hawlina L. Henningsohn : Sweden : Austria M.P. Hiess M. Hora : Czechia S. Mattocks : Malta Y. Özgök : Turkey T. Quack : Germany M. Rebek : Slovakia : Sweden B. Scholtz : Poland M. Skrzypczyk J. Steffens : Germany 1. Švihra : Slovakia T. Tamm : Estonia J. van der Zee : Netherlands : Greece Varkarakis

Invitees

A. Zelvys

L. Afferi : European Society of Residents in Urology (ESRU)
L. Baekelandt : European Society of Residents in Urology (ESRU)

E. Serefoglu : Multidisciplinary Joint Committee of Sexual Medicine (MJCSM)

M. Uijldert : European Junior Doctors (EJD)

: Lithuania

Office: W. Gietman (minutes) & S. Beijert

1. Welcome

J. Van Moorselaar welcomes the attendees and starts the meeting at 08:05.

2. Minutes board meeting 6 May 2023

The minutes are approved as an accurate record. There are no issues arising from the minutes.

3. Reports

3.1. President

FEBU revalidation: The proposal is to have FEBUs actively participate in continuing medical education and keeping a record of CME activities in the EU-ACME database. 200 credits in five years qualifies to keeping the FEBU title. In the case of insufficient credits, the title will be invalidated.

The FEBU revalidation programme is announced before the Written Exam 2024 and becomes obligatory for FEBUs who pass the Oral Exam 2025. The proposal is well-received.

3.2. Secretary

The current statutes of the foundation EBU are in the process of revision.

'European Countries' are now defined as countries affiliated to the Council of Europe. Since we have no relation to the Council of Europe this will be corrected to Full and Associate members of the UEMS.

3.3. Accreditation Committee

The committee reviewed the European Training Requirements document and added a grading of the relative importance of all learning objectives. The next step is to have the Examination Committee review it to validate the grading in relation to the exams. Once this process is completed, the updated ETR document will be resubmitted to the UEMS in 2024.

A. Chkhotua is appointed as chairman elect and will take over the position from K. German at the next board meeting.

3.4. Certification Committee

Residency Training Programme in Urology (RTPU): A slight decrease in applications is noticed. One of the factors that may keep centres from applying could be the lengthy and detailed application form. The committee will therefore consider to shortening/simplifying the form.

European Urology Scholarship Programme (EUSP): This is a joint EAU-EBU programme. Van Moorselaar thinks that the EAU should stick to its principles and have all EUSP host centres certified which is currently not the case.

3.5. Examination Committee

In the absence of S. Tekgül, the presentation is given by G. Bogart. Starting next year, the exams will be organised together with the company Televic.

3.6. Treasurer

G. Bogaert presents an update on the finances.

3.7. European Society of Residents in Urology

The question is raised if the 14 core procedures as defined in the ETR need to be updated; the issue is not elaborated on.

Their survey about 'Urology Training in Europe' is distributed amongst their national communication officers (NCOs) shortly and the outcome presented at the next board meeting.

Page |

2

3.8. European Junior Doctors

No comments.

3.9. Multidisciplinary Joint Committee of Sexual Medicine

No comments.

4. Any other business

Next board meeting:

Date: Friday 1-Saturday 2 MARCH 2024.

Venue: To be announced.

5. Closing

J. van Moorselaar thanks the attendees for their participation and closes the meeting at 10:20.

Page |

2