EBU Examinations

EBU In-Service Assessment
The EBU In-Service Assessment allows the candidates to evaluate their current knowledge base against the current European standards. This assessment encourages teacher and student reflection and is used to inform the teaching and learning process.

European Board Examinations in Urology
The European Board Examinations in Urology consist of 2 parts. Participation is subject to eligibility. The period between the EBU written examination and the EBU oral examination may not exceed 5 years.

EBU Written Examination
The purpose of the EBU Online Written Examination is to determine whether the candidate demonstrates the minimum level of knowledge recognised by the EBU Examination Committee. The examination consists of 100 MCQ on the entire range of urological topics including basic science, and must be completed within 2 hours.

Successful candidates receives a Certificate of successful Completion. Participation gives right to 2 CPD credits (category 3).
EBU Oral Examination
The objective of the EBU Oral Examination is to test the candidate’s ability to evaluate and manage common cases in every day practice. The candidate will be given 3 clinical cases which represent a wide spectrum of urologic practice.

The candidate who is successful in the Oral Examination receives the Fellow of the European Board (FEBU) Diploma and may use the FEBU title.

The FEBU Diploma is considered a Mark of Excellence, an added qualification and an asset to the individual’s CV and portfolio. The FEBU diploma has no legal value; it does not confer the legal right to practice urology in Europe or elsewhere. The FEBU diploma qualifies for 50 CPD credit points (category 3).

Eligibility Criteria European Board Examinations in Urology
The candidate must meet one of the following criteria; being:
- A final-year resident, trained as part of an official national urology training programme in a UEMS/EBU member country. The training must have been completed within 1 year after taking the EBU Written Examination.
- A certified urologist holding a certificate of accreditation in urology.

A certified urologist holding a certificate of accreditation in urology issued in a non-UEMS/EBU member country is only eligible to sit the EBU Online Written Examination and not the EBU Oral Examination.

National Examinations
The European Board Examinations in Urology are a formal part of the national examination in the following countries. 

  • EBU Written Examination: Austria, The Netherlands and Switzerland.
  • EBU Written and Oral Examinations: Hungary and Poland.

UEMS/EBU Member Countries
Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary,  Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom.